BOND Launch + Webinar: IITA Breeding Operations / Bayer Seed Processing

Date: 
June 9, 2021

 

 

Date/time: June 9: 8-10a.m. Mexico / 9-11a.m. EDT / 1-3p.m. GMT / 4-6p.m. EAT

For: CGIAR/ NARS breeding programs and breeding operations specialists

Description: 

BOND Launch (25 mins): Breeding operations teams are vital for ensuring programs deliver the varieties needed by smallholder farmers. There are many good practices being adopted; it's time to share and collaborate. Join CGIAR Excellence in Breeding (EiB) for the launch of BOND -- the Breeding Operations Network for Development (BOND), and learn:

  • BOND vision as a “CoP with teeth,” supporting and connecting breeding operations specialists

  • Plans for webinars, capacity development, resources and connections with colleagues

Webinar (95 mins): Following the launch will be the webinar, “Breeding operations at IITA & Seed production/processing at Bayer” from the  International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) and the Bayer Crop Science teams, with overviews of their management principles, practices and opportunities. Followed by Q&A.

Presenters: Gustavo Teixeira (EiB) / Alick Mulenga (IITA) / Gawie Groenewald (Bayer Crop Science) 

Tentative agenda:

Queries: Contact EiB's Gustavo Teixeira: G.TEIXEIRA (a) cgiar.org

More about BOND: excellenceinbreeding.org/BOND 

Join the event: On June 9: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86139141989?pwd=TVdtMG9EdlJOaVcyTEpQVytvZE1DZz...

 

Special thanks: to EiB project funders including Crops to End Hunger, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office, the United States Agency for International Development, GIZ/BMZ Germany, ACIAR Australia, and our presenters and partners.